A Word From a Volunteer

Shawn Cash, one of our volunteers, sent this to me, and I thought I would share:

Well this past week I was blessed with one of the greatest blessings I think we can possibly receive while being a follower of Christ.  I was blessed with the opportunity to practice John 3:30 and make Him become greater and I become less through serving with a organization known as Trinity West Crisis Dispatch (TWCD) in New York, New York.  As most know the north east coast of America was hit pretty hard by hurricane Sandy very recently causing immense damage to a lot of the northeastern coast.   My roommate, his girlfriend, and I were all blessed to go help serve and help out with some clean up around the northeastern coastline.  We go to serve in different areas for about 5 days as we had the chance to humble ourselves and become servants to others as we served our Lord.  During the 5 days we partnered with many different disaster relief organizations along side with TWCD some including Samaritan’s Purse and New York Cares.  One of my favorite parts of the whole trip was when we helped with Samaritan’s Purse on Long Island.  We got to help begin the rebuilding process of a home for a family who would not have been able to fix without help.  In this we were taking down wet drywall and insulation to eventually put in new materials to avoid mold.  In the middle of working the wife of the home stopped me for a second and looked me in the eye with a slight tear of joy and thanked me personally for making a difference and helping her.  At that moment the Lord really revealed to me that no matter how little we are able to get done that we have still made a tremendous difference in the life of this family.  It was so heart warming to just see how truly grateful this woman was to have us help.  I knew that the Lord was beginning to do a work in and through us to this family even for just the short time we got to serve them.  We did get the blessing to sign a bible that would be presented to the family when the house was finished.  Just seeing her gratefulness changed my whole view on the trip and helped me realize no matter how small the amount of service we got to do it made an impact for the community and for the Kingdom of the Lord.  The majority of the rest of the trip we spent chopping down trees for the community of Staten Island where the winds ripped through the island taking many down.  I had never been on any sort of mission trip so being able to do this with Trinity West Crisis Dispatch was such a tremendous blessing for me in my walk with the Lord.  I would say this was the best service week that I have ever been able to attend.  I thank TWCD for having me on this wonderful adventure and service trip and I thank Link year for allowing me to have this opportunity to help.  The trip was phenomenal!

 

About TWCD

www.twcd.us
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Word From a Volunteer

  1. ziggy koenigseder says:

    we live in Bellingen, NSW, Australia, and every Sunday morning listen to MACCA, on Australia All Over on ABC radio, and just heard an interview from Texas, from Matt, who is coming to Australia to help our volunteers fight our bushfires. This is a big Thank You to the mighty Texans for thinking of us. I hope one day we can recipricate, Many Thanks, Ziggy

Leave a Reply

