Rio Bravo

I finally feel like I’ve recovered from the trip to Reynosa! It was such a great opportunity to go on this trip with TWCD, and I am so glad I ran across another blogger’s post about going with them to Australia at the beginning of the year. I just decided to visit their website, shoot them an email, and before I knew it, I was on my way with the guys to Mexico!

On Saturday, I drove the 12 hours to Dallas from Alabama, and then on Sunday, we headed out for the daylong drive to Reynosa.

After that, I lost all track of time.

I sorted clothes, laid carpet and cove base, painted, scrubbed doors and furniture, and moved pavers. Others busted up concrete, hung sheetrock, and set up basketball goals for the kids. We worked from 8:30 till 4:00 everyday. And it was HOT! Then we’d head in, shower, eat delicious food cooked by the house parents, and play with the kids outside.

On Wednesday night we got to hear Ray’s testimony and the story of how Rio Bravo was started. The condensed version of the story is that he visited Mexico, felt called to be involved there, and did it. He followed God’s calling. Straight on. No hesitations. He just did it.

And it was hard in the beginning. Then miracle after miracle happened. They burned off the garbage that covered the place in the beginning. Hole by hole they dug the foundations, and batch by batch they mixed and poured the cement to fill these holes. With their own hands, and help from mission groups.

I was amazed at Ray’s dedication and faith. I’m sure my head would have been filled with doubts. But it was Ray’s calling, and he was pretty determined to make this home happen. Now, to see and hear how far Rio Bravo has come is amazing. There’s no doubt that God has His hand on this place and the people there.

It was SUCH a blessing to be a part of this trip. I’m so glad I took the chance to email TWCD, and to get involved.

I hope I get to go back down there to help again. Ray mentioned how their help has slacked off over the past few years. The Bible verse they hold to is James 1:27: “Pure and undefiled religion before God and the Father is this: to visit orphans and widows in their trouble and to keep oneself unspotted from the world”. I love this verse, and it really my touched my heart when Ray recited it as his life verse.

It was an awesome week of not only being involved in something I believe in, but being able to literally see the progress, and the impact that our group had while we were there. It was hard work, but it was such a refreshing experience.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

